Ladies who brunch

On Saturday I held the first of what I plan to be monthly, brunches. The idea behind these events is that for a donation of $30 to the Australian Cancer Research Foundation guests receive a two course brunch, a cocktail, tea and/or coffee. Cooking, especially for other people is one of my passions and I thought that this idea would work partly because I know some awesome people who like to eat and partly because in a place as small as Alice Springs while we punch above our weight in great cafes, people might be looking for something different for their Saturday morning leisurely breakfast than their usual favourite. It went really well and I’m already thinking about what I will do for the next one, I enjoyed every minute of the planning during the week, the 6 hours backyard and food prep on Friday night and the 5 hours cooking, serving and cleaning on Saturday (I also managed to sneak a 5km race in as it started at 6am, knowing how much I had to do at home made me run faster!).

Now not that the event was meant to be female exclusive, but as it turned out my guests were all ladies – eleven of them in fact. A mixture of friends and guests that they had invited everyone seemed to enjoy each others company as much as the food. Taking advantage of our weather being a little cooler this week, the brunch started at 10am and the guests sat on long tables set up on the lawn under the shade  of the trees – at least until the sun moved and they were plunged into bright sunshine – something I will have to figure out a solution to for the next one (everyone gets a sombrero at the door?).

Champagnge and citrus granita cocktails.

Helping me in the kitchen was my wonderful friend Bec who I have worked with professionally and cooked with a lot before, I don’t know if there is anyone who I work with better, she was great and thankfully I didn’t turn into a crazy chef. Together we served up champagne cocktails made with layered orange and ruby grapefruit granita – yummy and refreshingly cold, petit pancakes with a chocolate butter (can someone take the leftovers of this from me? It is irresistible and not a temptation I need in my fridge!), salted almonds and fresh fruit (mango and strawberries), followed by corn fritters with a roast tomato sauce, bacon, rocket and sour cream. I was able to successfully adapt the meals to cater for a vegetarian and someone who required gluten-free who were present at the brunch.

Pretty good corn fritters, if I do say so myself

Finishing up at about midday a couple of guests generously donated more than the $30 and after expenses (which will go toward paying for food for the next one) the brunch raised $270! Woo hoo! Thanks everyone who came and I hope to see some of you at the next one! Thanks must also go to my lovely housemates for letting me take over the kitchen and backyard I really appreciate it.

Ladies who brunch!

Tagged , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Ladies who brunch

  1. Em says:

    Noosh that looks seriously amazing (and as you know, I know my breakfasts). Get down to Adelaide town and cook for me!

  2. Sure! Wish that I could….

Leave a comment